Covenant of Mayors

The Covenant of Mayors is a European initiative whose members are committed to increasing energy efficiency and using sustainable energy sources. Its signatories are cities and municipalities in Europe. Their self-imposed goal is to meet or even exceed the EU’s energy policy targets. The Alpine Town of the Year Association has been an official supporter of the Covenant of Mayors since 2012. It thus recognises the Covenant of Mayors as an important instrument for municipalities in matters of climate protection, promotes the exchange of information between the cities of the Covenant of Mayors and the Alpine Towns, and encourages its own members to implement the objectives of the Covenant.

The Alpine Towns of the Year    

Biella, Morbegno, Bressanone-Brixen, Tolmezzo, Tolmin, Chamonix Mont-Blanc, Lecco, Annecy, Idrija, Bolzano-Bozen, Chambéry, Sonthofen, Trento and Belluno/l have already signed the Covenant of Mayors. These cities have among other things drawn up a sustainable energy action plan and developed concrete measures to reduce their CO2 emissions.

Joining the Covenant of Mayors is an essential element of the climate policy of the association and its members: via a wide variety of projects, the Alpine Towns of the Year are committed to making the Alps a model climate-neutral region by the year 2050.